Dispute Resolution

The Dispute Resolution Interest Group was established to explore issues of the avoidance and settlement of private economic disputes through agreed and efficient procedures, focusing specifically on international trade and investment, and on the increasing role of trade in services in the international economy. The Group provides an active forum for the exchange of fresh ideas and new theories on matters related to international dispute resolution.

During the Annual Meeting of the American Society of International Law (ASIL) held on April 7, 2022 in Washington, D.C., the co-chairs of the ASIL Dispute Resolution Interest Group (DRIG), Simon Batifort and Rémy Gerbay, announced the creation of the ASIL DRIG “Prize for Best Article in International Dispute Resolution.” The inaugural 2023 Prize will be awarded to the author(s) of the article published in 2021 that the Selection Committee considers to be outstanding in the field of international dispute resolution. DRIG is currently accepting submissions for the Prize.

Prize details and the members of the 2023 Selection Committee:

  • Eligibility: The Selection Committee will consider publications on inter-State dispute settlement, investor-State dispute settlement, international commercial arbitration, and alternative dispute resolution. Any article, or book chapter from an edited volume, in the English language published during 2021 may be nominated. Sole and jointly authored papers are eligible, and self-nominations are accepted. Membership in the American Society of International Law is not required. Submissions from outside the United States are welcome and encouraged.
  • Criteria: In assessing submissions, the Selection Committee will take into account factors such as: a) depth of research; b) sophistication of analysis; c) originality; d) quality of writing; and e) potential impact on the field of international dispute resolution.
  • Submission: The Dispute Resolution Interest Group is currently accepting submissions, which must be received by October 31, 2022. Electronic submission is required in portable document format (.pdf). All submissions must include contact information (name, e-mail, phone, address). Electronic submissions should be sent to the following email address: drig@asil.org. Please indicate “Submission for the DRIG Prize” in the subject line.
  • Prize: The Selection Committee will select one publication for the award of the Prize. The Prize consists of a certificate of recognition, a complimentary registration for the 2023 ASIL Annual Meeting, a complimentary one-year membership in the Society, and a complimentary one-year subscription to the Jus Mundi international law and arbitration search engine. The winner of the Prize will be announced at the ASIL Annual Meeting in April 2023. The Prize is sponsored by Curtis, Mallet-Prevost, Colt & Mosle LLP, Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP, and Jus Mundi.
  • Selection Committee: The Selection Committee consists of individuals drawn from private practice, academia, and/or government who possess expertise in the fields covered by the Prize, and also includes the DRIG co-chairs. The Selection Committee for the inaugural 2023 Prize will be presided by Michele Potestà (Lévy Kaufmann Kohler) and will include Crina Baltag (Stockholm University), Kun Fan (UNSW Sidney), James Thuo Gathii (Loyola University Chicago), Norah Gallagher (Queen Mary University of London), Ndanga Kamau (Independent Arbitrator), Facundo Pérez Aznar (Geneva Center for International Dispute Settlement), Dirk Pulkowski (Permanent Court of Arbitration), and Jeremy Sharpe (Independent Arbitrator).
Sign in to Manage Interest Group Memberships

Group Officers

Simon Batifort
Remy Gerbay
Belen Maria Ibanez
Ashley Belyea
Lucia Solano
Cindy Buys
Meg de Guzman
Kathy Roberts
Lindsey Schmidt
Shana Tabak
Tracy Roosevelt
Christie Edwards
Clara Brillembourg
Milena Sterio
Nienke Grossman
Tatiana Sainati (Ex Oficio)
Lucila Hemmingsen (Ex Oficio)

Search Group Directory

Group Officers

Belen Maria Ibanez's picture
Belen Maria Ibanez
Matthew Gomez's picture
Matthew Gomez
Staff Liaison
Simon Batifort's picture
Simon Batifort